Southam St James CofE Academy

Let your light shine

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media


"Governors are very active in school and show a passion for raising standards and supporting the school to improve.

(Her Majesty's Inspector of Schools, September 2017)

The school is part of the Diocese of Coventry Multi Academy Trust and the Academy Governance Committee (AGC) is part of the governance structure of the Trust which is responsible for overseeing strategic decisions of the school. The governance structure for the trust as a whole is outlined in the governance structure documents here.


As an Academy Governance Committee we work in close partnership with the Headteacher and senior leadership team to ensure the best quality education is provided to every child. It is our responsibility to support, challenge, ask questions and ultimately represent the school community. The Academy Governance Committee acts as a ‘critical friend’ to the senior leadership team, questioning and challenging decisions in a constructive and professional way.


Academy Governance Committees have key roles in relation to: providing support, monitoring and challenge around educational experience and performance; church, community and stakeholder engagement and supporting alignment with Trust strategy, approach, ethos and values. The AGC Members meet regularly, visit the school when possible and during special events.  As a team, we are able to support the school to function well and strive to provide a high standard of education.


As a Church of England Academy (part of the Diocese of Coventry Multi-Academy Trust) all the AGC Members support the school in being a place of inclusive welcome and education for everyone.

We feel that Southam St. James CofE Academy is privileged to have such a caring, well-resourced school with a highly skilled and enthusiastic teaching staff that creates a stimulating and exciting learning environment within a strong Christian framework. The happy atmosphere in the school and the enthusiasm with which the children approach their work, as well as the high quality of work achieved, makes us very proud of our school.  We have the greatest confidence in recommending our school to you for your child, and hope that you will come to experience for yourself all the good things we have to offer.


List of AGC Members including term of office and appointment details.

                                                                                      Term of Office
Mrs Alison Hine, Executive Headteacher -                   Ex-Officio (Executive Headteacher)


Mrs Laura Constable, Staff AGC Member                    Until 01.09.2024

(elected by staff)


Mrs Linda Blunt, Staff AGC Member                             Until 25.11.2024

(elected by staff)

Mrs Belinda Hewer, Foundation AGC Member              Until 01.09.2024

(nominated by PCC, appointed by Diocese Board of Education)


Mrs Valerie Copley, Foundation AGC Member              Until 01.02.2024

(nominated by PCC, appointed by Diocese Board of Education)

Mrs Lucy Vials, Parent AGC Member                            Until 01.12.2022

(elected by parents)


Mrs Kate Gordon, Governor (Vice Chair)                      Until 01.09.2024

(chair of the Performance and Standards Committee)

(appointed by parents)


Mrs Debs Brown, Community AGC Member (Chair of Governors)     Until 14.03.2021

(Nominated by AGC, Appointed by the Trust)


Mr Roderick Clark, Foundation AGC member                Until 31.10.2023

(nominated by PCC, appointed by Diocese Board of Education)


Mr Ankur Sharma, Community AGC Member                Until 19.11.2023           

(Nominated by AGC, Appointed by the Trust)


Mrs Jennie Cooke, Parent AGC Member                       Until 01.09.2024

(Safeguarding Responsibility)

(elected by parents)


Mr Robert Strang, Community AGC Member                 Until 01.02.2024

(Nominated by AGC, Appointed by the Trust)



Anne Day, contact via the school office


Governors who have resigned in the last 12 months.


Mrs Ron Holmes, Local Authority Governor                   Date of resignation 10.12.2020
(appointed by the Local Authority) 

(SEND Responsibility)



Register of Business Interests